Sir Simon Rattle and Frank Peter Zimmermann with Mozart and Bruckner

  • Franz Schubert
    Incidental music to Rosamunde: Entr'acte No. 3

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major

    Frank Peter Zimmermann Violin

  • Anton Bruckner
    Symphony No. 7 in E major

Claudio Abbado, who was to conduct these concerts, passed away on 20 January 2014. The Berliner Philharmoniker mourn the passing of an extraordinary musician and human being. His love for music and his insatiable curiosity were an inexhaustible source of inspiration to the orchestra musicians and have characterized their music-making together since his first concerts with the orchestra in 1966. The Berliner Philharmoniker are proud to be able to number him among their chief conductors and be part of his musical legacy. His death is a tremendous loss for all the musicians.

The Berliner Philharmoniker pay tribute to Claudio Abbado with deep love and gratitude and dedicate these concerts to his memory. In remembrance of this painful loss, Frank Peter Zimmermann will play Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Violin Concerto in G major without conductor during the first half of the concert. Also the opening piece, the incidental music from Franz Schubert's Rosamunde will be performed without conductor. Chief conductor Sir Simon Rattle will conduct the Symphony No. 7 in E major by Anton Bruckner during the second part of the programme.

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting Mahler's 1st and Beethoven's 4th symphonies.

Watch concert for free