Family Concert

Members of the Berliner Philharmoniker

  • free

    Antonio Vivaldi
    Autumn and Winter from The Four Seasons (00:37:20)

    Aleksandar Ivić Presentation and Violin

Almost everyone knows Antonio Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, and can hum along to the most famous melodies of this cycle. But who knows exactly what scenes and stories about the composer are depicted in these violin concertos? At the Family Concert of the education programme of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the examples of “Autumn” and “Winter” revealed the wealth of detail hidden in the score.

Originally from Croatia, Aleksandar Ivić, violinist with the Berliner Philharmoniker since 1996, not only played the solo part in the concertos, but also presented the concert. He describes the scenes in the original texts which inspired Vivaldi’s compositions – such as Harvest Festivals in the early autumn. In other places, he imaginatively suggests new interpretations of the soundscapes. Aleksandar Ivić is accompanied in this performance from the Chamber Music Hall of the Berlin Philharmonie by members of the Berliner Philharmoniker.