George Benjamin’s “Written on Skin” with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra

12 Nov 2018

Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Sir George Benjamin

  • Sir George Benjamin
    Written on Skin (97 min.)

    Evan Hughes bass baritone (The Protector), Georgia Jarman soprano (Agnes), Bejun Mehta Countertenor (Angel 1/The Boy), Victoria Simmonds mezzo-soprano (Angel 2/Marie), Robert Murray tenor (Angel 3/John), Benjamin Davis stage direction

Written on Skin by George Benjamin, who was born in London in 1960, is one of the most successful operas of recent times. Since its premiere at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence in 2012, the work has been performed around the world at opera houses and renowned international festivals, including the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, London’s Royal Opera House Covent Garden, the Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam, the Vienna Festival and the Opéra Comique in Paris. The semi-staged production of Written on Skin that Benjamin Davis created for the Mahler Chamber Orchestra was received enthusiastically in 2016 in Barcelona, Madrid, London and Cologne, among others.

The text by English playwright Martin Crimp is based on an Occitan legend from the 13th century, and tells of a love triangle that comes to a bloody end through mysterious modern angels. George Benjamin will be the musical director of the performance of Written on Skin, a Berlin premiere, by the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and an international ensemble of soloists. He has composed a colourful score following the tradition of Claude Debussy’s Pelléas et Mélisande and Alban Berg’s Wozzeck that was described by the British newspaper The Guardian as the “masterpiece of a genius”. Benjamin, whose teachers included Olivier Messiaen and Alexander Goehr, is the Composer in Residence of the Berliner Philharmoniker in the 2018/19 season, and will appear in a total of seven concerts with various works as composer as well as conductor.

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert with Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Ludwig van Beethoven.

Watch concert for free