Repeat: Simon Rattle conducts Roberto Gerhard and Antonín Dvořák

During his tenure as chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Simon Rattle frequently presented Dvořák rarities. The graceful yet dramatic Scherzo capriccioso will be heard at this concert. For the first time the orchestra plays Dvořák’s “American” Suite, whose affinity with the Symphony “From the New World” is unmistakable. Another novelty is music by Roberto Gerhard, a student of Schoenberg, whose works combine avant-garde and Spanish sounds.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Recommended for you

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy