Simon Rattle conducts Haydn’s “Oxford” Symphony and Brahms’s First

In this concert, Simon Rattle conducts symphonic works which encompass the era of Beethoven, so to speak. We hear the Oxford Symphony by Joseph Haydn, one of Beethoven’s teachers, along with Johannes Brahms’s First Symphony. The fact that Brahms took fourteen years to complete the work clearly reflects his struggle with the powerful example of Beethoven – the musical result is characterized by resoluteness and self-confidence, however.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2008 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Joseph Haydn composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy