Simon Rattle conducts Haydn’s “The Seasons”

According to Sir Simon Rattle himself, there are few other composers with whom he has a closer relationship than with Haydn – it was “love at first sight” when he encountered these works as a young musician. In 2009, Rattle conducted Haydn’s oratorio The Seasons: a work which entrances through its magnificence and its basically sunny disposition. The vocal soloists are Christiane Oelze, John Mark Ainsley and Thomas Quasthoff.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Christiane Oelze

John Mark Ainsley

Thomas Quasthoff

Programme Guide

© 2009 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Recommended for you

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy