Sir Simon Rattle and the Orchestra Academy perform Mahler’s “Das Lied von der Erde”

The Orchestra Academy is the Berliner Philharmoniker’s breeding ground for talent. In January 2011, chief conductor Sir Simon Rattle, together with the young musicians, performed Gustav Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde in an arrangement for chamber orchestra which movingly highlights the intimate, human expression of the work. The concert opened with Hans Werner Henze’s Second Violin Concerto.

Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Guy Braunstein

Magdalena Kožená

Andrew Staples

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy