Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s Second Symphony

Hardly a work is closer to Simon Rattle’s heart than Gustav Mahler’s monumental Second Symphony, which he conducted in a student performance when he was only a teenager. The press wrote about this 2015 performance that it was “philosophically underpinned and intoxicating at the same time, colourful, overwhelming”. In addition, we take a trip through the magical sound spaces of Helmut Lachenmann’s Tableau for orchestra.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Magdalena Kožená

Kate Royal

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy