Simon Rattle conducts Beethoven’s Symphonies Nos. 6 and 8

Even though Beethoven often felt alien among his fellow humans, he was close to nature. He manifested his enthusiastic connection to life in the countryside most impressively in the colourful natural scenes of his Sixth Symphony. The humorous Eighth behaves in a less balanced way; its Finale gave Louis Spohr the impression that someone was sticking his tongue out in the middle of a conversation.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Ludwig van Beethoven composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy