Simon Rattle conducts symphonies between late Romanticism and Modernism

In this concert, Simon Rattle shows the fascinating transformation the symphony underwent after late Romanticism. In addition, he juxtaposes Johannes Brahms’s sonorously pastoral Second Symphony with Arnold Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 1 whose free tonality opened up previously unimagined worlds of expression. Dream-like and intimate, Hans Krása’s Symphony for small orchestra from 1923 has by then lost all features typical of the genre.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Eva Vogel

Programme Guide

© 2009 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker
Hans Krása composer
Eva Vogel mezzo-soprano
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy