Dvořák’s Cello Concerto with Steven Isserlis and Alan Gilbert

Of the few important cello concertos in the repertoire, Antonín Dvořák’s contribution to the genre stands out because of its inexhaustible melodic richness and mellow late Romantic tone. Steven Isserlis – “Britain’s greatest cellist” (The Telegraph) – performs the concerto with Alan Gilbert, who also conducts Bohuslav Martinů’s Fourth Symphony from 1945: a work filled with immense relief at the end of World War II.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert

Steven Isserlis

Programme Guide

© 2009 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Alan Gilbert conductor
Antonín Dvořák composer
Steven Isserlis cello
Bohuslav Martinů composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy