New Year’s Eve Concert with Kirill Petrenko and Pablo Sáinz-Villegas

31 Dec 2020
New Year’s Eve Concert

Berliner Philharmoniker
Kirill Petrenko

Pablo Sáinz-Villegas

  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Leonore Overture No. 3 in C major, op. 72 (14 min.)

  • Manuel de Falla
    El amor brujo: Introduction and “Ritual Fire Dance” (5 min.)

  • Joaquín Rodrigo
    Concierto de Aranjuez for guitar and orchestra (25 min.)

    Pablo Sáinz-Villegas guitar

  • Anonymous
    Spanish Romance from the film Jeux interdits (arr. by Chris Hazell) (5 min.)

    Pablo Sáinz-Villegas guitar

  • Heitor Villa-Lobos
    Bachianas brasileiras No. 4 (20 min.)

  • Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
    Capriccio espagnol, op. 34 (15 min.)

  • Dmitri Shostakovich
    The Gadfly, Suite from the Film Music, op. 97a: No. 3 Folk Feast (4 min.)

  • free

    Kirill Petrenko in conversation with Julia Gartemann (12 min.)

This concert with chief conductor Kirill Petrenko provides an end to the year under the southern sun. The first stop is Spain, with sparkling ballet music by Manuel de Falla and Joaquín Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, featuring star guitarist Pablo Sáinz-Villegas. There is a detour to South America with Heitor Villa-Lobos’ Bachianas brasileiras No. 4 and finally the Capriccio espagnol, in which Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov exudes a vibrant southern temperament with Russia colouring. As a tribute to Ludwig van Beethoven, the concert opens with the Leonore Overture No. 3.


© 2020 EuroArts Music International

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist