Kirill Petrenko conducts Beethoven, Brahms and Schoenberg

After Beethoven’s Seventh and Ninth Symphonies, Kirill Petrenko now conducts the Eighth with the Berliner Philharmoniker, in which the composer humorously toys with the audience’s expectations. The programme also presents two sets of orchestral variations: the cheerful Haydn Variations by Johannes Brahms and Arnold Schoenberg’s Variations for Orchestra. Schoenberg’s work shows not least how much he was inspired by Brahms.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Programme Guide

© 2023 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Johannes Brahms composer
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Ludwig van Beethoven composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy