Kirill Petrenko conducts Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov

16 Jan 2021

Berliner Philharmoniker
Kirill Petrenko

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
    Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy Overture after Shakespeare (21 min.)

  • Sergei Rachmaninov
    Isle of the Dead, Symphonic Poem, op. 29 (20 min.)

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
    Francesca da Rimini, Fantasy for Orchestra, op. 32 (24 min.)

  • free

    Kirill Petrenko in conversation with Dominik Wollenweber (12 min.)

In this concert, Kirill Petrenko presents three passionate symphonic poems from Russia. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky is represented by two tragic love stories: the Fantasy Overture Romeo and Juliet – the 29-year-old composer’s first masterpiece – and the fantasy for orchestra Francesca da Rimini. From Sergei Rachmaninov, a composer who is particularly close to Kirill Petrenko’s heart, we also hear his mysterious and sombre Isle of the Dead, inspired by Arnold Böcklin’s painting of the same name.

Since the 2019/20 season, Kirill Petrenko has been chief conductor and artistic director of the Berliner Philharmoniker. He received his training first in Russia, then in Austria. The international music world first became aware of him when he premiered Wagner’s Ring of the Nibelung at the Meiningen Theater in 2001, directed by Christine Mielitz and designed by Alfred Hrdlicka, performed on four consecutive days. He conducted the cycle for the second time twelve years later at the Bayreuth Festival. At the same time, Kirill Petrenko took up his post as general music director of Bayerische Staatsoper, his third leading position at an opera house after Meiningen and the Komische Oper Berlin. He also made guest appearances at the world’s top opera houses (from the Wiener Staatsoper, Covent Garden in London and the Opéra National in Paris to the Metropolitan Opera in New York) as well as with the great international symphony orchestras – in Vienna, Munich, Dresden, Paris, Amsterdam, London, Rome, Chicago, Cleveland and Israel. He made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2006. Kirill Petrenko also appears with the Berliner Philharmoniker outside of Berlin – on tour and of course in the Digital Concert Hall. Selected performances are also available as recordings; most recently released was an edition with symphonic works by Beethoven, Tchaikovsky, Franz Schmidt and Rudi Stephan.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist