Daniel Harding conducts Holst’s “The Planets”

Daniel Harding undertakes a visionary musical journey through our solar system with Gustav Holst’s atmospheric orchestral suite The Planets. From rugged Mars to mystical Neptune, each planet has its own character. One work that Holst greatly admired was Arnold Schoenberg’s Five Pieces for Orchestra, which fluctuate between late Romanticism and Modernism. Brett Dean’s Komarov’s Fall was commissioned by the Philharmoniker in 2006 as a companion piece to Holst’s Planets.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Harding

Ladies of the Rundfunkchor Berlin

© 2025 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Daniel Harding conductor
Brett Dean composer
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Gustav Holst composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy