Daniel Harding conducts Berlioz’s “Roméo et Juliette”

Although love is the all-encompassing theme in Romeo and Juliet, there are many more emotional states to experience: a gloriously festive atmosphere, the hatred of a family feud and, of course, sadness and horror in the face of a tragic double suicide. In Berlioz’s version – part symphony, part cantata – he captures all of this with drama, opulence and invention. The conductor of this performance is Daniel Harding, who has been exploring the work for many years.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Harding

Kate Lindsey

Andrew Staples


Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Daniel Harding conductor
Hector Berlioz composer
Andrew Staples tenor
Rundfunkchor Berlin

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy