Klaus Mäkelä conducts Richard Strauss’s “Alpine Symphony”

Klaus Mäkelä, 29 years young and already chief conductor designate of the Royal Councertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam, is a rising star among conductors. In Richard Strauss’s Alpine Symphony, he presents a magnificent musical panorama. Wolfgang Rihm also favours opulent sounds in Transitus III. “I love the intricate web of orchestral possibilities”, says the 2024/25 Composer in Residence, “the creation of states, of transformations”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Klaus Mäkelä

© 2025 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Klaus Mäkelä conductor
Wolfgang Rihm composer
Richard Strauss composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy