Klaus Mäkelä conducts Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich

Passionate, visionary, powerful – critics praise conductor Klaus Mäkelä with words such as these. Despite his youth, the native of Finland is already in great demand internationally. He brings two Sixth Symphonies to his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker: Dmitri Shostakovich said he wanted to convey the mood of “spring, joy and youth” in his work. Tchaikovsky, on the other hand, evoked wistful melancholy in the “Pathétique”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Klaus Mäkelä

Programme Guide

© 2023 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy