Claudio Abbado conducts Mozart’s Requiem at Memorial Concert for Herbert von Karajan

In a newspaper interview, Claudio Abbado once said Herbert von Karajan had been “like a father” to him. So for Abbado it was not only a duty but also a matter of personal significance to conduct this memorial concert with the Berliner Philharmoniker at Salzburg Cathedral. The programme featured Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Requiem.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado

Karita Mattila

Sara Mingardo

Michael Schade

Bryn Terfel

Programme Guide

© 1999 EuroArts Music International


Claudio Abbado Chief conductor 1990–2002
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer
Karita Mattila soprano
Bryn Terfel bass

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy