1996 Europakonzert from St. Petersburg with Claudio Abbado

01 May 1996
Europakonzert from St. Petersburg

Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado

Anatoli Kotcherga, Kolja Blacher

  • Sergei Prokofiev
    Romeo and Juliet, ballet, op. 64: The Montagues and the Capulets · Dance of the five couples · Masks · Dance of the maids with lilies · Death of Tybalt (19 min.)

  • Sergei Rachmaninov
    Aleka, opera: Cavatina “Vyes’ tabor spit” (8 min.)

    Anatoli Kotcherga Bass

  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Romances for violin and orchestra No. 1 in G major, op. 40 and No. 2 in F major, op. 50 (14 min.)

    Kolja Blacher Violin

  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Symphony No. 7 in A major, op. 92 (40 min.)

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
    The Nutcracker, op.71: Waltz of the Flowers (8 min.)

There are not many opera houses that deserve the attribute “legendary”, but the Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg, where both Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov and Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker received their premieres, is certainly one of them. So it was a special experience for the Berliner Philharmoniker and Claudio Abbado to perform their European Concert on this stage in 1996. 

At the same time, the musicians celebrated a small anniversary, as it was one hundred years ago that the orchestra had performed in Russia for the first time, as part of the festivities for the coronation of Tsar Nicholas II. With reference to their hosts, the musicians opened the concert with excerpts from Prokofiev’s ballet Romeo and Juliet, which had also been given its premiere there. The Russian-themed part of the concert closed with a powerful performance of the Cavatina from Rachmaninov’s opera Aleka by Anatoli Kotscherga. 

The second part of the concert with Beethoven’s Violin Romances is linked to the Cavatina in as far as they also bring operatic scenes to mind with their shifting between beauty of sound and dramatic expression. The soloist is Kolja Blacher, who was first concertmaster of the Berliner Philharmoniker from 1993 to 1999. The concert came to a close with Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, whose piano reduction Beethoven had dedicated to the Russian Tsarina Elisabeth Alexeyavna. In the words of BBC Music Magazine, the work was given “an exhilarating performance characterised by glossy strings and sprightly wind solos”.

EuroArtsRecorded at Mariinsky Theatre, St. Petersburg
© 1996 EuroArts Music International

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist