Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s Third Symphony

“To me, a symphony means constructing a world with all the technical means at one’s disposal.” – no other work illustrates this quote by Mahler more impressively than his Third Symphony. Raw power and lyrical simplicity, scenes of nature and an orchestral final chorus of ethereal beauty all add up to a multifarious yet coherent whole. In 2011, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Simon Rattle performed the symphony for the first time together.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Nathalie Stutzmann

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy