Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5 with Mitsuko Uchida and Simon Rattle

In his Fifth Piano Concerto, we experience Beethoven’s perhaps most pugnacious side. Here, Mitsuko Uchida and Simon Rattle presents this evidence of impassioned rebellion which even today has lost none of its freshness and vigour. More austere is Sibelius’s Fourth Symphony, whose ascetic severity shocked the audience at the first performance so much that no one dared applaud.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Mitsuko Uchida

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
György Kurtág composer
Jean Sibelius composer
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Ludwig van Beethoven composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy