Second concert in the Brahms/Schumann cycle with Simon Rattle

In this concert, Sir Simon Rattle pairs the second symphonies of Johannes Brahms and Robert Schumann. Just the juxtaposition of these works reveals much of the inner working of the two composers: On the one hand, the masterfully gripping work by Brahms, on the other, Schumann’s Second, which he wrote while suffering excruciating auditory hallucinations.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Robert Schumann composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy