Simon Rattle conducts the “Symphonie fantastique”

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique bombarded audiences in 1830 with completely unknown effects and contrasts. “Compared to the Witches Sabbath,” as one critic wrote at the time, “Weber’s Wolf’s Glen is a lullaby”. Simon Rattle presented this seminal work to inaugurate the 2009/2010 season in a programme which also included the premiere of Laterna Magica, a colourfully shimmering work by the Finnish composer Saariaho.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2009 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy