Simon Rattle and Magdalena Kožená at the Waldbühne

A celebratory finale to an era with the Berliner Philharmoniker. With this concert at the Waldbühne, Sir Simon Rattle’s tenure as chief conductor of the orchestra ends after 16 years. It is a colourful, sparkling farewell – with works by Gershwin, Fauré, Khachaturian and Respighi. The star guest is Sir Simon’s wife, mezzo-soprano Magdalena Kožená, who sings excerpts from Joseph Canteloube’s charming Chants d’Auvergne.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Magdalena Kožená

Programme Guide

© 2018 EuroArts Music International



Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
George Gershwin composer
Gabriel Fauré composer
Joseph Canteloube de Malaret composer
Magdalena Kožená soprano
Aram Khachaturian composer
Ottorino Respighi composer
Claudio Monteverdi composer
Edward Elgar composer
John Philip Sousa composer
Paul Lincke composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy