Christian Tetzlaff and the Orchestra Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker

25 Jan 2015

Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 3 in G major, K. 216 (24 min.)

  • Arnold Schoenberg
    Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night), op. 4 (version for string orchestra) (32 min.)

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Rondo for violin and orchestra in C major, K 373 (7 min.)

  • Joseph Haydn
    Symphonie No. 80 (26 min.)

The string sextet Verklärte Nacht, composed in 1899 on the basis of a poem by Richard Dehmel, later arranged by its composer for string orchestra, sets a striking emphasis in Arnold Schoenberg’s compositional development. An unprecedented example of programme music in a chamber music genre, it sounds a call against the musical aesthetics of its time. At the same time, Schoenberg’s face-off with Richard Wagner’s harmony reaches an initial high point in this composition. And then, the poem that serves as the basis for Schoenberg’s composition is about the willingness of a man to accept his partner’s illegitimate child as his own! No wonder that the premiere of this work in 1902 created a huge scandal.

Regardless of programme music or scandals: the students of the Orchestra Academy have dedicated themselves to Schoenberg’s captivating late Romantic sounds, as they have to the violin artistry of the young Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – which is why – besides his C major Rondo – they perform the G major concerto together with Christian Tetzlaff, Artist in Residence of the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2014/2015. This Orchestra Academy concert is rounded off by a performance of Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 80 in D minor, a boisterous work that initiated compositional development for the future development of the genre.

Christian Tetzlaff was Artist in Residence of the Berliner Philharmoniker in the 2014/15 season. 
Check out our Special Page for more concert recordings.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist