Susanna Mälkki and Gil Shaham

The works of this evening with Susanna Mälkki look both back to the past and forward to the future. For example, Béla Bartók’s Second Violin Concerto, with soloist Gil Shaham, is in the tradition of Beethoven and Brahms but also experiments with the twelve-tone technique. Jean Sibelius’s Second Symphony, on the other hand, combines echoes of Tchaikovsky with innovative form, while Ferruccio Busoni’s Tanz-Walzer conjures up the atmosphere of a coffee house.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Susanna Mälkki

Gil Shaham

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Susanna Mälkki conductor
Ferruccio Busoni composer
Béla Bartók composer
Gil Shaham violin
Johann Sebastian Bach composer
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy