2002 Europakonzert from Palermo with Claudio Abbado and Gil Shaham

Rapturous applause tinged with a little sadness characterise this Europakonzert from the Teatro Massimo in Palermo, which was the first stop on Claudio Abbado’s final tour at the head of the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2002. The concert features committed performances of great works of the Romantic period: the profound emotion of Brahms’s Violin Concerto with Gil Shaham as the soloist, and Dvořák’s Symphony From the New World with its ingenious combination of American and Bohemian elements.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado

Gil Shaham

Programme Guide

© 2002 EuroArts Music International



Claudio Abbado Chief conductor 1990–2002
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Johannes Brahms composer
Gil Shaham violin
Antonín Dvořák composer
Giuseppe Verdi composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy