Elgar’s Violin Concerto with Gil Shaham and David Zinman

Edward Elgar’s Violin Concerto calls for a soloist who can bring its tenderly autumnal, lyrical tone to life without sentimentality. Gil Shaham, who performed the work here with the Berliner Philharmoniker and conductor David Zinman, is such an artist. Also on the programme was Béla Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra, which brilliantly alternates between elegy and a defiant will to live.

Berliner Philharmoniker

David Zinman

Gil Shaham

Programme Guide

© 2008 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


David Zinman conductor
Edward Elgar composer
Gil Shaham violin
Béla Bartók composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy