Zubin Mehta conducts Saint-Saëns’s “Organ Symphony”

There’s a lot to admire in Camille Saint-Saëns’s Organ Symphony: this original work is extremely multi-faceted – on the one hand gossamery and delicate, on the other festively roaring in its organ finale. Like the symphony, the other works of this evening with Zubin Mehta are steeped in late Romantic rapture: the Intermezzo from Franz Schmidt’s opera Notre Dame and Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s Violin Concerto with Gil Shaham as the soloist.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta

Gil Shaham

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Zubin Mehta conductor
Franz Schmidt composer
Erich Wolfgang Korngold composer
Gil Shaham violin
Camille Saint-Saëns composer
Thierry Escaich organ

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy