Simon Rattle conducts Roberto Gerhard and Antonín Dvořák

During his tenure as chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Simon Rattle frequently presented Dvořák rarities. The graceful yet dramatic Scherzo capriccioso could be heard at this concert. For the first time the orchestra played Dvořák’s “American” Suite, whose affinity with the Symphony “From the New World” is unmistakable. Another novelty was music by Roberto Gerhard, a student of Schoenberg, whose works combine avant-garde and Spanish sounds.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Roberto Gerhard composer
Antonín Dvořák composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy