Simon Rattle conducts Brahms’s Symphonies No. 3 and 4

The cycle of the complete Brahms symphonies conducted by Simon Rattle was the most important project of the Berliner Philharmoniker during the 2008/2009 season. Two of these works were heard here: the Third and Fourth Symphonies. Die Welt praised the performance as the “ecstatic apotheosis of what modern orchestral playing, fast reactions and concise interpretation can elicit from a work that has long been a classic”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2008 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy