Krystian Zimerman and Simon Rattle perform Bernstein’s “The Age of Anxiety”

As chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Simon Rattle has impressively shown again and again what variety and richness are couched in the term “modern music” – and he does so again at this concert. We hear three short premieres, enter the world of film and television with Robin Hood and Tom and Jerry, and experience Bernstein’s jazz-influenced Second Symphony, with world star Krystian Zimerman as piano soloist.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Krystian Zimerman

Programme Guide

© 2018 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Leonard Bernstein composer
Krystian Zimerman piano
Magnus Lindberg composer
Andrew Norman composer
Brett Dean composer
Scott Bradley composer
Erich Wolfgang Korngold composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy