Sir Simon Rattle conducts “Carmina Burana” at the 2004 New Year’s Eve Concert

What could be more obvious than to ring in a new year with an appeal to the goddess Fortuna? And this is precisely what happened on 31 December 2004, when Sir Simon Rattle conducted the Berliner Philharmoniker in a performance of Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana – a bright musical panorama which wondrously unites the most diverse spheres of expression: the archaic and the modern, grandiosity and humour, and the finest sophistication with raw power.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2004 EuroArts Music International

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy