Kirill Petrenko and Frank Peter Zimmermann

Edward Elgar is to England what Jean Sibelius is to Finland: both composers gave their country its own musical language. In his Lemminkäinen Suite, Sibelius transports us to the world of Finnish legends and tells of the adventures of a high-spirited hero. Elgar’s Romantic and genteel Violin Concerto reflects the spirit of Victorian England. Violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann, acclaimed for his soulful tone, performs the concerto under the direction of Kirill Petrenko.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Frank Peter Zimmermann

© 2025 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Edward Elgar composer
Frank Peter Zimmermann violin
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy