Mariss Jansons conducts Dvořák’s Symphony “From the New World”

Anyone thinking of Czech music has a specific sound in mind: colourful, passionate, decidedly rhythmical and almost always with a melancholy undertone. These and many other facets of the music of Bohemia and Moravia are to be found in this concert with Mariss Jansons and violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann. Following works by Smetana and Bohuslav Martinů, the evening culminates in Antonín Dvořák’s famous Symphony No. 9 From the New World.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons

Frank Peter Zimmermann

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Mariss Jansons conductor
Bedřich Smetana composer
Bohuslav Martinů composer
Frank Peter Zimmermann violin
Antonín Dvořák composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy