Brahms’s Violin Concerto with Frank Peter Zimmermann and Bernard Haitink

It is actually astonishing that Brahms’s Violin Concerto is considered one of the most popular as it forgoes any play on the tension between soloist and orchestra; the effect is rather one of mutual support for each other. In 2010, Frank Peter Zimmermann presented the work “with warmth and intensity” in a “sensational” performance, as the press described it. To close the concert, Bernard Haitink conducted Bartók’s sharply contoured Concerto for Orchestra.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Bernard Haitink

Frank Peter Zimmermann

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Bernard Haitink conductor
György Kurtág composer
Johannes Brahms composer
Frank Peter Zimmermann violin
Béla Bartók composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy