2007 Europakonzert from Berlin with Simon Rattle, Lisa Batiashvili and Truls Mørk

01 May 2007
Europakonzert from Berlin

Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

Truls Mørk, Lisa Batiashvili

  • Richard Wagner
    Parsifal: Prelude to Act 1 (15 min.)

  • Johannes Brahms
    Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra in A minor, op. 102 (37 min.)

    Truls Mørk Cello, Lisa Batiashvili Violin

  • Johannes Brahms
    Symphony No. 4 in E minor, op. 98 (48 min.)

Since 1991, the Berliner Philharmoniker have been giving concerts every year on 1 May to mark the anniversary of their foundation on 1 May 1882. Each year the concert is held in a European centre of culture. To celebrate its 125th anniversary the orchestra decided to remain in its home town.The backdrop for its 2007 concert was the hugely impressive Oberspree Cable Works, one of Berlin’s most important industrial monuments of the late 19th century.

The works on the programme were pieces by Wagner and Brahms dating from the early years of the orchestra: Wagner’s Parsifal received its world première at the Bayreuth Festspielhaus in 1882, and the prelude to Act I was heard at the orchestra’s very first subscription concert in the October of that year. 

Two years later, Brahms appeared with the orchestra as soloist and conductor, and ever since then, the orchestra has had a particularly close rapport with his music and would have no difficulty finding two soloists from within its own ranks to play the solo parts in Brahms’ Double Concerto. For the gala concert in May 2007 they called on the services of two international soloists, the cellist Truls Mørk and the violinist Lisa Batiashvili, who, according to the critic of Der Tagesspiegel, “engaged in a nimble, thoughtful and brilliant dialogue both with each other and with the orchestra. What fine music!” The concert culminated with Brahms’s Fourth Symphony: “Simon Rattle combines Furtwängler’s sense of scale with Karajan’s beauty of tone,” wrote Die Zeit, “winning the audience’s acclaim with this demonstration of its capabilities as a world-class orchestra.”

EuroArtsRecorded at the Kabelwerk Oberspree, Berlin-Oberschöneweide
© 2007 EuroArts Music International

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist