The 1995 Europakonzert from Florence with Zubin Mehta and Sarah Chang

The Maggio Musicale in Florence is one of the world’s most prestigious music festivals, and it was there that the Berliner Philharmoniker elected to perform their 1995 Europakonzert. The Festival’s artistic director Zubin Mehta conducted a varied programme in the city’s Palazzo Vecchio, including Stravinsky’s Petrushka, a score notable for its shifting perspective between modernity and nostalgia. The guest soloist in the highly virtuosic opening movement of Paganini’s First Violin Concerto was the fourteen-year-old Sarah Chang.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta

Programme Guide

© 1995 EuroArts Music International



Zubin Mehta conductor
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Boris Blacher composer
Niccolò Paganini composer
Igor Stravinsky composer
Antonín Dvořák composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy