Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s Fifth Symphony

Gustav Mahler’s Fifth Symphony owes its popularity to its Adagietto, a movement full of tenderness, dreaming and hopeful longing. Yet it is easy to overlook the many facets of the other movements: the vehemence of the second and third movements, and the exuberant high spirits of the finale. The press described this performance from 2011 with Simon Rattle simply as “breath-taking” and “deeply moving”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy