Arcadi Volodos plays Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1

It is the epitome of both the Romantic piano concerto and the “Russian soul”: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1. Here, it is played by Arcadi Volodos, often described as a “magician of the keyboard”. Plus, conductor Neeme Järvi presents fascinating discoveries from the Russian repertoire: a suite from Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s opera-ballet Mlada, and the Fourth Symphony of Sergei Taneyev, a pupil of Tchaikovsky.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Neeme Järvi

Arcadi Volodos

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Neeme Järvi conductor
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov composer
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky composer
Arcadi Volodos piano
Sergei Taneyev composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy