Neeme Järvi conducts Strauss’s “Don Juan” and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 14

Shostakovitch’s 14th Symphony is a highly unusual work. With frugal musical forces, it takes death as its theme. It forgoes all pathos yet is all the more haunting because of this. In contrast, this concert with Neeme Järvi also includes Richard Stauss’s Don Juan and Tchaikovsky’s Francesca da Rimini, compositions which also deal with death, however in both cases it is combined with a highly luxurious orchestration.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Neeme Järvi

Anatoli Kotcherga

Olga Mykytenko

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Neeme Järvi conductor
Dmitri Shostakovich composer
Richard Strauss composer
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy