Third concert in the Brahms/Schumann cycle with Simon Rattle

The third symphonies of Johannes Brahms and Robert Schumann which Simon Rattle conducts in this 2014 concert demonstrate that Romanticism was not only a period of reflection but also of confidence. The Brahms work, which was sometimes compared to Beethoven’s Eroica, comes across as powerful and optimistic, while Schumann’s Rhenish Symphony shows an unusually exuberant side of the composer.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Robert Schumann composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy