Simon Rattle conducts Sibelius’s Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2

“Clear-sighted and fervent” was how the press described the interpretation of all Sibelius’s symphonies presented by the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle in February 2015. On this first night of the cycle, the programme included the First and the Second Symphonies – decidedly late Romantic works whose expressiveness is likely to have been inspired by Tchaikovsky’s only slightly older Pathétique.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy