Fourth concert in the Brahms/Schumann cycle with Simon Rattle

The Fourth symphonies of Brahms and Schumann embody excitingly contrasting worlds. On the one hand Brahms’s masterful late work, advancing inexorably, on the other, the effervescent symphony of the young Schumann – heard here in an early version, which for Simon Rattle is superior to the established later version because of its extra “lightness, grace and beauty”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH, Unitel


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Robert Schumann composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy