Europakonzert from Athens with Simon Rattle and Daniel Barenboim

At the foot of the Acropolis in Athens lies one of the most beautiful theatres of ancient Greece, and it was here, in the open air, that the 2004 Europakonzert was held. An added musical highlight was that it marked the first joint appearance of Daniel Barenboim on piano and Simon Rattle conducting. On the programme were Brahms’s First Piano Concerto and First Piano Quartet, the latter in an orchestral arrangement by Arnold Schoenberg.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Daniel Barenboim

Programme Guide

© 2004 EuroArts Music International



Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Johannes Brahms composer
Daniel Barenboim Conductor, piano

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy