A Sibelius evening with Simon Rattle and Leonidas Kavakos

On the second night of their performance of all of Sibelius’s symphonies in February 2015, Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker played the Third and the Fourth symphonies which both represent a fusion of Nordic melody and a pioneering concept. The soloist in Sibelius’s Violin Concerto is the Greek star violinist Leonidas Kavakos who, to quote the press, played “with an admirable slender tone”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Leonidas Kavakos

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Jean Sibelius composer
Leonidas Kavakos violin
Johann Sebastian Bach composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy