Karajan conducts Ravel and Debussy

Herbert von Karajan was a master of the fine blending of acoustic colours. This quality is shown to its best advantage in this programme of masterpieces of French Impressionism. Works include Debussy’s multifaceted La Mer, and his lascivious, dream-like Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune, and Ravel’s Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Chloé, a work which combines shimmering transience with uncompromising energy.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert von Karajan

Programme Guide

© 1980 Unitel


Herbert von Karajan Chief conductor 1956–1989
Claude Debussy composer
Maurice Ravel composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy