Simon Rattle and Patricia Kopatchinskaja

The culmination of this concert with Sir Simon Rattle is Gustav Mahler’s Fourth Symphony which stands out from the monumental works of the composer through its sunny disposition. The concert opens with the premiere of a short piece by Wolfgang Rihm, followed by György Ligeti’s Violin Concerto: an equally complex and playful work which soloist Patricia Kopatchinskaja ends with a humorous and surprising cadenza.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Camilla Tilling

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Wolfgang Rihm composer
György Ligeti composer
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin
Gustav Mahler composer
Camilla Tilling soprano

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy