Berliner Philharmoniker
Gustavo Dudamel

Ensemble Glorious Percussion

  • Sofia Gubaidulina
    Glorious Percussion, Concerto for percussion ensemble and orchestra (00:40:24)

    Ensemble Glorious Percussion

  • Dmitri Shostakovich
    Symphony No. 12 »The Year 1917« (00:47:44)

  • free

    Sofia Gubaidulina in conversation with Margarete Zander (00:23:05)

Just last season, Gustavo Dudamel enthralled the audience in the Philharmonie with a concert of exclusively Russian music. Berlin’s Tagesspiegel wrote at the time: “Gustavo Dudamel assembles his orchestral forces in double-quick time, as in a time-lapse film, the whole mechanism rotating, a sound like flashing metal, with sharp-edged rhythms. ... Dudamel, the dervish from Venezuela, exuding boundless energy, transforms the Berliner Philharmoniker into a galvanic body of sound.” This concert will be no less energetic, with works by Shostakovich and Sofia Gubaidulina. Shostakovich’s Twelfth Symphony – which astoundingly has never been performed before by the Berliner Philharmoniker – is, for this composer, an unusually enthusiastic work. Completed in 1961, it portrays the October Revolution in large-scale programme-musical tableaux, reflecting a short period in Shostakovich’s life when, following the death of Stalin and in the hope of a more humane USSR, he was unreservedly enthusiastic about communism. Sofia Gubaidulina’s percussion concerto Glorious Percussion, which was premièred by the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra under Dudamel’s direction in September 2008, is effusive in a completely different way. The Swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheter wrote: “A brilliant world première ... with standing ovations. Sofia Gubaidulina shows yet again her perfect mastery of dualistic composition, working with contrasting forces and worlds of light.”

Deutsche GrammophonGustavo Dudamel appears in the Digital Concert Hall courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free